Steve and I went out to dinner last night.  Since there were no extra hungry mouths to feed, we went out for sushi.  Those kids can run up one heck of a sushi bill.  And given that they don’t even eat fish, you can imagine how much they put away.  Sushi is a home dish only these days.  We went to a place we’d never been to before, since the places we HAD been are decidedly mediocre.  We got a bit spoiled, I’m afraid.

So this place had nice decor and the sushi was okay.  But the waiter was creeeepy.  I’m not sure how to describe it, but he was so unsettling I couldn’t look at him.  He spoke in a weird stilted manner, like he’d learned Fancy Waiter Talk phonetically, but didn’t really know what he was saying.  He had kind of weird teeth.  He might have been stoned.  He said things like “I trust everything is to your satisfaction” but in a way that suggested he was far, far more comfortable saying “DUDE, I just leveled up!” or, maybe, “and you will stay here in the dark until you can be Good.”  We couldn’t get out of there fast enough.  Left a good tip, of course, b/c he was absolutely going to follow us out and prepare us for the raw bar, otherwise.

