I’ve been reading comic books the last few days.  As mentioned in an earlier post, I got the House of Mystery books from the library.  I really enjoyed them, they were suspenseful and super creepy.  I am very bummed that the next volume won’t be released until February.  Since graphic novels seem to be suiting my attention span right now, I went up to Steve’s office to see what he had.  I recalled him recommending the Invincible series to me a while ago (when I’m not ready to hear things they just slide right off.  Then I have to try to figure out what it was you said, ages down the road).  It’s a superhero comic (which House of Mystery is not), and I don’t always like those, but these are very fun.  The main character is a high school kid who has just come into his powers (his dad’s from another planet, you know).  It’s funny and clever while still being a superhero comic.  And best of all, Steve has about 10 of them.

In other news, yesterday Julianna was one of the students selected to talk to a delegation from Bermuda.  They wanted to look at our school to…uh…I have no idea.  Case the joint?  Reassure themselves that Bermuda was an excellent choice of residence?  Anyway, it was quite an honor.  The article about it in the paper is here.  In case it doesn’t work, here’s the part you care about:

Toward the end of the visit, the Bermudian educators sat and talked with five middle school students.

The Montessori philosophy allows students to learn at their own pace. Eighth-grader Julianna Greenberg told the delegation that successful Montessori students have to learn how to manage their time and set priorities.

“We have goals here, but there are no rules about how fast or how slow you can go,” she said. “We’re on our own to meet our goals.”

She told the story of a friend who, when faced with the freedom afforded Montessori students, goofed off too much and didn’t get her work done. She transferred to a school with more structure and is doing well.

Julianna was indignant that they called her an 8th grader.  “I TOLD them I was a 7th grader.  I saw them write it down.”  So now she knows the big secret–the newspaper is full of lies, misquotes, and half-truths.  In fact, given the newspaper, I don’t even believe her name is really Julianna Greenberg and I named her.

 

