We were on our way to school on Friday morning. We pulled onto the ramp onto I-70 and a guy was there hitchhiking. As we drove past him, he gave me kind of a goofy smile, almost a “yeah, I can’t believe I’m hitchhiking either” look and I waved. As you do. Then Lily piped up “Hey, was that Mr. Jerry?” I didn’t *think so, but I looked in the rearview mirror…same size and build as Jerry…and wearing an orange baseball cap! Jerry, Bev’s husband, started wearing an orange baseball cap on their cross-country drive so that the family could spot him in a crowd. Not a lot of orange baseball caps. And now here was one on the side of the road. I swerved over to the emergency turn-around spot to head back and go on that ramp again. All the while Julianna is saying “Mr. Jerry has a cell phone! It’s not him!” and Lily is asserting that she was pretty sure it was. As we went past the hitchhiker a second time, and it was not at all Mr. Jerry, the goofy smile seemed slightly lobotomized. Julianna said “I TOLD you it wasn’t him! Why would he be heading toward Frederick? He’d be at work by now. He has a cell phone.” And I said yes, but if it WAS Jerry, and enough had gone wrong that he was hitchhiking on an on-ramp in the middle of the morning and I’d waved as I passed? I’d have needed to go back. That would be a man in NEED of a ride. ‘course, the Not-Jerry guy might well have really needed a ride, too. But he was clearly nuts. So he can just wait for his own neighbor.

I’m at my parents’ house.  Julianna was excited to go up into the attic and get out my old Beatles records.  They’ve been in the attic since the house was built, 15 or so years ago, so I had no hopes that they’d be functional.  She was just happy to get the albums to hang on her wall (records! how quaint!).  I finally found my record stash (really? Four albums by the Stranglers?  Am I British?) and she was over the moon to see how many I had.  And then my folks’ record player worked.  And then?  And then?  Almost all of the albums are fine.  She is about to blow apart with happiness in there, listening to records.  I think one of the Ringo Starr solo albums is warped, but, um, it’s hard to tell…

